Chakras are the centers of the body that energy flow through. When our chakras are blocked they can make us ill and unable to function at our best. The word ‘chakra’ comes from the sanskrit word for wheel and the chakras are often seen as wheels turning and allowing energy to move through the body. There are seven major chakras, each with a specific location and unique attribute. Keeping your chakras balanced is important. Just as having a closed chakra can make you ill, having your chakra’s open all the time will leave you vulnerable which is just as unhealthy.

Let’s review the seven chakras; a key factor in living your life to the fullest through the teachings of living your life in the new age.The Seven Chakras

The Seven Major Chakras

Chakra: Root
Represents: Our foundation and allows us to feel grounded
Location: Base of the spine in the tailbone area
Common Physical Problems: Degenerative arthritis, sciatica, eating disorders, constipation
Emotional: Financial Independence, Money, Food
How to Re-align:
Try applying myrrh or cedarwood essential oil to the wrists and lower back before sleeping, cook with cloves and marjoram, when doing meditation use the mantra Lam, and incorporate yoga poses such as mountain pose, warrior pose and bridge pose where the feet are grounded.

Chakra: Sacral
Represents: Our ability to connect to and accept others and new experiences
Location: Found in the lower abdomen about two inches below the navel and into the body
Common Physical Problems: Sexual and reproductive issues, urinary problems, kidney dysfunctions, hip, pelvic, and lower back pain
Emotional: Our sense of abundance, well-being, pleasure, and sexuality
How to Re-align:
Try applying jasmine and ylang ylang essential oils first thing when you wake up and last thing when you go to bed at night, when meditating use the mantra Vam, and use hip opening yoga poses such as standing wide forward bend, bound angle pose and supine bound angle pose.

Chakra: Solar Plexus
Represents: Our ability to be in control of our lives and to be confident
Location: In the stomach area of the upper abdomen
Common Physical Problems: Digestive problems, liver dysfunctions, chronic fatigue, high blood pressure, diabetes, stomach ulcers, pancreal and gallbladder issues, and colon disease
Emotional: Our self-worth, our self-confidence, and our self-esteem
How to Re-align:
Try using rosemary, ginger, or lemon essential oils to the wrists, drink herbal teas with lemon and ginger, meditate using the mantra Ram, and use heat building poses in yoga like sun salutation, half twist, and boat pose.

Chakra: Heart
Represents: Our ability to love others as well as ourselves
Location: Center of the chest above the heart
Common Physical Problems: Asthma, heart disease, lung disease, breast issues, lymphatic problems, upper back and shoulder problems, arm and wrist pain
Emotional: Our ability to love, have joy and achieve inner peace
How to Re-align:
Try using rose, bergamot, and thyme essential oils before you start your day, meditate with the mantra Yam, use chest opening yoga poses such as camel, cobra or fish.

Chakra: Throat
Represents: Our communication abilities
Location: In the throat
Common Physical Problems: Thyroid issues, sore throat, laryngitis, TMJ, ear infections, ulcers, facial problems, neck and shoulder pain
Emotional: Our ability to communicate and self-express our feelings and our truths
How to Re-align:
Try using eucalyptus essential oil before bed, use the mantra Ham while meditating, and use yoga poses and stretches that open the neck and shoulder such as Fish, Lion, and Plow pose.

Chakra: Third Eye
Represents: Our ability to see the big picture and focus on the path ahead
Location: In the forehead between the eyes
Common Physical Problems: Headaches, blurred vision, sinus problems, eyestrain, seizures, hearing loss and poor hormone function
Emotional: Our intuition, imagination and wisdom as well as the ability to think through and make decisions.
How to Re-align:
Try using clary sage, bay, helichrysum, and jasmine essential oils during the day, include bay leaves and mint in your cooking, use the mantra Om in your meditation, and use child’s pose and seated yoga mudra when doing your yoga.

Chakra: Crown
Represents: Our ability to be fully connected spiritually
Location: The top of the head
Common Physical Problems: Depression, trouble learning, sensitivity to your surroundings including light and sound
Emotional: Our inner and outer beauty, our connection to the spiritual
How to Re-align:
Meditation is the best way to realign the crown chakra. It is best to meditate without using a mantra. Begin your day with an outdoor walk to help you reconnect to the peace of the world, use sandalwood and lotus essential oils, and use yoga poses like tree and eagle to help reconnect.